ABOUT

The about me section is my least favorite thing to write...  What to put here?  This section is usually filled with professional accolades and mine was as well up until a short time ago.  But this website is not about my profession of strength and conditioning.  The worst possible thing that could happen is that I could look back at my life and say that the only thing I did for the world was to make a few athletes stronger in the gym.  By trade I'm a strength and conditioning coach, but in reality, I'm a student, athlete, minimalist, feminist and nomad.  Those are things that I resonated with long before my career and will be with me long after my career in the weight room is over.

 

Everyone has different methods of growth, but my drinks of choice are traveling and training.  More specifically, I've lived in 13 cities in the past 10 years, I visited 9 countries in the past year and I just moved to Amsterdam from the US to get my second master's degree in biomechanics.   My training has ranged from being a college softball player, to a wannabe beach volleyball player to now exploring more organic strength with the Ido Portal method and Crossfit.  Yep, I said it.  Crossfit.  I don't recommend for all (or any) of the athletes that I work with, but there's something to be said about the versatility and mental fortitude it requires.  I also genuinely love meeting people who are what I like to call 'seekers.'  In all of the traveling that I've done, I've met some really and truly incredible people have decided to start a podcast to share some of their stories.  You can listen to the Theta Wave Podcast here.

One of my main passions is teaching and the biggest outlet for me at the moment is being a strength and conditioning coach.  I have worked for 3 different professional baseball organizations in the past 6 years as a strength and conditioning coach including the Houston Astros, St. Louis Cardinals and the Chicago Whitesox. I also happen to be the first woman to have done that type of work in the history professional baseball.  Before baseball I worked at LSU, ASU, and EXOS which was known as API at the time... (which shows my age!)  I'm currently working with the Dutch national baseball and softball teams in Amsterdam while I complete my master's degree. 

 

Teaching stretches beyond the weight room for me which has led to the development of a course for young people who want to follow the same career path as me: The Virtual Handshake Academy. The Virtual Handshake Academy funds my (upcoming) scholarship for young professionals as 25% of all profits go towards the scholarship.

*Young professional seeking career advice??? Please contact me through my site: 

www.virtualhandshakeacademy.com

Wanna chat? Shoot me an email: rachel@rachelbalkovec.com

 

  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle